The first year

Yesterday was our first anniversary. In some ways, it’s very hard to believe that it’s been a whole year. In other ways, it’s even harder to believe it’s been only a year. It’s been such a busy year, that it seems as if everything that has happened should have happened over the span of two or three years. The first six months of being married were the craziest, to be honest.

In the six months after our wedding, I moved to South Carolina, we got Blunder, had a major car accident which totalled N’s car, I found a job, my stepfather passed away, and we bought our first home and moved into it. Quite frankly, that’s a lot to jam into six months’ worth of time.

Through it all, N has been able to make me smile and laugh, even when I’m about ready to kill him. This first year has been a time of major adjustments, and sometimes it’s not easy for either of us. We’d never lived together before we got married; we’d never even lived near each other. We’d also only been dating for about 8 months when we got engaged, and a year when we got married. Somehow, though, we both just knew that this was the right step.

Despite the ups and downs, despite the difficulties that sometimes come with life and with being married, I still have no doubts that we did the right thing. N is my best friend and instead of just being a constant cheerleader (which is what everyone always says they want – that person who supports them no mater what), he truly pays attention and supports me when I actually need it, and tells me when I’m in the wrong. And vice versa.

I may not always love being told I’m in the wrong, or being a jerk, or not acting on what I said I’d act on, but it pushes me to be a better person, and I know he’s being honest with me. Quite frankly – honesty is more important to me than all the mindless support and cheerleading in the world; even when it hurts or isn’t what I want to hear.

Neither of us is easy to live with, but at the same time, we laugh so much, and we have so much fun with one another, that it makes the tough times easier to get through. Further, as we grow, we’ve started working on more constructive ways of discussing things, and arguing less, and we’ve begun enjoying one another even more.

We had an amazing first year, and I’m thrilled to be looking forward to many, many more.

About Elizabeth

I'm a native New Englander, married to a native Southerner - culture shock, settling into married life, a new job, a new house, and adjusting to life 800 miles away from my family are the basics of my everyday life. I'm lucky enough to have my best friend as my husband, the funniest dog in existence, and enough room in our home to fit all of my books and zombie movies, without which I'd be lost.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

