my favorite way to wake up in the morning…

…is with an elbow to the face at 4am. Okay, maybe it’s not my favorite way to wake up, but it’s certainly how I woke up this morning!

Picture this – I am peacefully and blissfully sleeping, comfortable and safe (so I think) in my bed, next to my loving husband, when I am suddenly awoken by something hard smashing into my face; the force and size of which (in my somewhat groggy state) seemed to be the back of my husband’s head. My immediate response was, “Oh my god, are you okay?!”

N confusedly replies that he’s fine, and sensing his confusion, I explain that I thought he hit his head on me. At this point, he’s even more confused, until I manage to spit out that he managed to smash me in the face somehow, after which he’s so busy apologizing that I don’t actually find out it was his elbow for another minute or two. At this point, I doubt I’m going to ever get to sleep, especially as my husband appears to have become the most violent sleeper ever.

Finally, N gets across the fact that the cat was poking his back with her paw – he’d pushed her off of the bed twice, and this time he grabbed her and tossed (threw)┬áher out of the bedroom, elbowing my face in the process. By this time, the dogs are wide awake, and seeing as I’m also fairly aware, I get up to let them out, use the restroom, let them back in, feed the cat, and so forth. I did finally manage to get back to bed, but I can’t say I slept easily after that. Additionally, given that my face is aching today at work, I have to admit to being a bit wary about curling up next to the man tonight.

About Elizabeth

I'm a native New Englander, married to a native Southerner - culture shock, settling into married life, a new job, a new house, and adjusting to life 800 miles away from my family are the basics of my everyday life. I'm lucky enough to have my best friend as my husband, the funniest dog in existence, and enough room in our home to fit all of my books and zombie movies, without which I'd be lost.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my favorite way to wake up in the morning…

  1. I think I would fear the cat much more…

  2. Usualfool says:

    My wife is trained to kill people, but she scares easily. I think it took about a year for me to get comfortable with the idea that she wasn’t going to murder me in her sleep if she had a nightmare. ;)

Leave a Reply

