March is Poverty month in our house!

Okay, so it’s not really quite that bad – but yesterday it certainly felt that way. This was not really the month we should have gotten another dog, but that’s an actual rant for another time. As it stands, we did get another dog, and we both quite like her.

However, it does rather feel as if – between the dogs and the creatures that have decided to nest in our attic – we’re going to end up eating ramen noodles forever.

Saturday evening we started hearing scritching noises in the attic. It really didn’t sound like a mouse, and by Monday morning, N was convinced it was an opossum. I disagreed, as there was no thumping, just scritching – however, I still had no idea what it was. So last night, N went scrambling into the attic – and unfortunately lost his balance and fell and poked a tiny (nail-sized) hole in our ceiling. Nothing some spackle won’t fix, but we’re still not sure what’s living up there – he set the mouse traps back up in the hopes that it’s mice and we don’t have to call an exterminator. Fingers crossed!

additionally, we came home yesterday to find that Maggie had quite possibly broken her tail. Poor girl didn’t wag it at all, and was not happy when N tried to touch it to see what was going on. She had a vet’s appointment at 2:30, and I’m waiting to hear from N how bad the damage is – both to her tail and our pocketbook.

I am feeling…discouraged and exasperated, but I was still laughing as of last night, and I’m sure I’ll be laughing again tonight/tomorrow – I’m just having a hard time doing it at this very moment. Mostly because it can be a little bit overwhelming when I think about the following:

A. We are this close to paying off the credit card.
B. Every time I mention we need to save money, N comes up with something we need to spend money on, and he honestly doesn’t see the pattern.
C. Unfortunately, B translates into N getting everything he wants (fun stuff), and me getting…clothing when I’m desperate.
D. N and I have different financial priorities – different ideas about what to spend the “fun” money on.

I’m a little bit cranky today. I’ll get over it before tomorrow, I’m sure. But for now, I’m going to go see how many different kinds of ramen noodles there are.

About Elizabeth

I'm a native New Englander, married to a native Southerner - culture shock, settling into married life, a new job, a new house, and adjusting to life 800 miles away from my family are the basics of my everyday life. I'm lucky enough to have my best friend as my husband, the funniest dog in existence, and enough room in our home to fit all of my books and zombie movies, without which I'd be lost.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

